From Earl Sweatshirt To Ari Lennox: 9 New Singles We Loved This Week

We’re back with another list of new singles that caught our attention this week, including new songs from Ari Lennox, Earl Sweatshirt, and Kodie Shane.

From funk-influenced R&B to melodic hip-hop, here are nine singles to add to your playlist.

1. Ari Lennox – “40 Shades Of Choke”

On Friday, Ari Lennox released two new singles, “Grampa” and “40 Shades of Choke.” Both tracks are amazing, but “40 Shades of Choke” is currently our favorite.

2. Diggy – “It Is What It Is”

Back in August, Diggy Simmons shared the video for “It Is What It Is,” a gospel-tinged track about enjoying the blessings you already have. Now, the rapper has shared his new album, Lighten Up, an eight-track project that reflects the same genre mixing of the album’s lead single. “It Is What It Is” is our favorite song from the album, but “Text Me,” featuring Leven Kali, is not one to miss.

3. Raleigh Ritchie – “Me, Myself, and I”

“Me, Myself, and I” is the newest song from Ritchie, a follow-up to summer’s “Time in a Tree.” Ritchie continues to be vulnerable and open about his battles, telling Billboard, “I really hope my music can be comforting to people that are suffering. Initially, I make it because it’s comforting to me.”

4. Lucky Daye – “Late Night”

Up-and-coming new artist Lucky Daye needs to be on your radar. The singer has shared the video for “Roll Some Mo” and a collection of R&B and funk-influenced  new singles, our fave of which is “Late Night.”

5. Kodie Shane – “High Speeds”

Kodi Shane has finally released her debut album, Young HeartThrob, an album that includes single “Love & Drugz II” and “Flex on Me” with features from Trippie Red and TK Kravitz. Check out must-hear track “High Speeds” above.

6. Juan & Lisa Winans – “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”

Juan and Lisa Winans are getting us into the holiday spirit with their rendition of “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas.” Along with the new release, they’ve also shared “Rest.” Both tracks will appear on their upcoming holiday EP, A Little Soul For Christmas.

7. Cupcakke – “Prenup”

CupcakKe is just as brash and fun as ever on her new project Eden, a follow-up to Ephorize, which was released in January. We’ve got “Prenup” on repeat, but we suggest you check out the entire album.

8. DAWN – “new breed”

DAWN has always moved to the beat of her own drum and her new single, “new breed,” is a reflection of just that. The track is the lead single from her upcoming album, new breed, set to be released January 25.

9. Earl Sweatshirt – Nowhere2go”

Earl Sweatshirt has returned with a new single, “Nowhere2go,” a track he said was “kind of a reflection of where I was at that time.”

The rapper told Apple Music’s Beats 1 host Zane Lowe, “It’s the first one that’s getting released, because I’m not a single-ass n—a, and it’s the closest thing that I got to a damn single.”

Share :