Fashion How To: Six Ways To Wear The Little Black Jacket

Season's change but it remains a staple for stylish women.

ESSENCE.COM Mar, 08, 2013

1 of 6 Photography, Jonathan Bookallil. Styling, Freddie Leiba.

Top off a glam evening gown by adding brooches to luxe up a casual blazer style.

Jacket, Donna Karan New York, $2,295, Donna Karan New York stores. Dress*, Marc Jacobs, marcjacobs.com. Earrings and pin clips (as brooches), Kenneth Jay Lane, $150 each, 877-953-5264. Cocktail ring, Janis by Janis Savitt, $340, 212-245-7396. Pumps, Kors Michael Kors, $250, 866-709-KORS.

2 of 6 Photography, Jonathan Bookallil. Styling, Freddie Leiba.

Balance a mixed print selection with a serious solid style.

Jacket, Express, $118, express.com. Blouse, Diane von Furstenberg, $245, DVF store, New York City, 646-486-4800. Capri, J.Crew, $148, jcrew.com. Earrings and bracelets, Kenneth Jay Lane, $213–$275, 877-953-5264. Cuff, m.haskell, $28, 212-764-3332. Rings, Stephen Dweck, $345–$950, stephendweck.com. Heels, Jimmy Choo, $775, jimmychoo.com.

3 of 6 Photography, Jonathan Bookallil. Styling, Freddie Leiba.

Work a cool jumpsuit in lieu of an actual business suit with your blazer.

Blazer, Banana Republic, $250, bananarepublic.com. Jumpsuit, Zero + Maria Cornejo, $1,195, zeromariacornejo com. Earrings and cuffs, Cara Croninger, $300–$1,500, TenThousandThings, 212-352-1333. Red pendant necklace, Elsa Peretti for Tiffany & Co., $650, tiffany.com. Beaded necklace, Stephen Dweck, $1,185, stephendweck.com. Bag, Tiffany & Co., $1,195, tiffany.com. Sandals, L.A.M.B., $355, amazon.com.

4 of 6 Photography, Jonathan Bookallil. Styling, Freddie Leiba.

A crisp, clean button-down and blazer combo makes one sharp look, whether paired with printed or solid pants.

Jacket and shirt, Calvin Klein, $130 and $60, calvinklein.com. Pants, Moschino, $450, 212-243-8600. Head scarf, Horiyoshi the Third, $450, net-a-porter.com. Necklace*, Cara Croninger, TenThousand-Things, 212-352-1333. Bracelets, m.haskell, $22–$24, 212-764-3332. Monkey head bracelets, Kenneth Jay Lane, $225 each, 877-953-5264. Bag, Tiffany & Co., $1,295, tiffany.com. Heels, Giuseppe Zanotti Design, $895, giuseppezanottidesign.com.

5 of 6 Photography, Jonathan Bookallil. Styling, Freddie Leiba.

Lends instant sophistication to a steamy style.

Jacket, Ann Taylor, $168, anntaylor.com. Swim top and bottom, Omo Norma Kamali, $975 and $400, normakamali.com. Earrings, necklace, coin ring, bracelet and cuff, Janis by Janis Savitt, $175–$625, 212-245-7396. Agate ring, Annette Ferdinandsen, $715, TenThousand-Things, 212-352-1333. Sandals, Calvin Klein, $119, Lord & Taylor stores.
price upon request

6 of 6 Photography, Jonathan Bookallil. Styling, Freddie Leiba.

It doesn't have to be all business, add a lighthearted touch to your blazer with playful prints and flirty styles.

Jacket, Lauren Ralph Lauren, $250, select Bloomingdale's. Bralet and belted shorts, Marc by Marc Jacobs, $98 and $348, Marc by Marc Jacobs stores. Earrings, necklace, bangle and cuffs, Elsa Peretti for Tiffany & Co., $375–$1,025, tiffany.com. Platforms, Bottega Veneta, $1,350, Bottega Veneta boutiques.

Tags

# News

Tags

# News