Fall Fashion Preview: Editor's Picks

Fall Fashion Preview: Editor's Picks
ESSENCE.COM Aug, 17, 2012

1 of 26

“The mix of grey wool and leather is such a cool contrast of textures. I love that this bag is different from what everyone is carrying right now,” explains Fashion Editor Celia Smith.
 
“Mohawk” satchel, Allibelle, $450, allibellenyc.com.

2 of 26

“Grey sweatshirts have become a winter wardrobe staple for me, and this colorblocked style is a great update to that.”
 
Colorblock sweatshirt, All Saints, $120, allsaints.com.

3 of 26

“This watch is cheap and cheerful and adds a pop of neon color against fall’s dark tones.”
 
Slap watch, Xhilaration, $10, target.com.

4 of 26

“This is a great everyday boot to wear with jeans or a flirty mini dress and tights. The navy color is a fresh alternative to black.”
 
Suede platform ankle boots, Sole Society, $60, solesociety.com.

5 of 26

“If there’s any piece worth investing in – it’s these babies. This line is not only fabulous, but all pieces are made in the USA from recycled materials.”
 
Oxidized silver and gold diamond earrings, Sorellina, price available upon request, sorellinanewyork.com.

6 of 26

“This jacket fits like a glove and gives a rocker edge to anything you wear.”
 
Vegan leather motorcycle jacket, Aeropostale, $30, aeropostale.com.

7 of 26

“I’ve been searching for the perfect leather pants, and these have the cut and fit of a great pair of jeans but using luxe leather fabric,” explains Smith.
 
Leather pants, Joe’s Jeans, price available upon request, joesjeans.com.

8 of 26

“Nothing says luxe like three tiers of lace, and the royal purple doesn’t hurt either. This is the perfect little holiday party shoe to dance the night away,” says Market Editor Reneise Francis.
 
Lace and suede sandal, Chelsea Paris, $695, chelseaparis.com

9 of 26

“What a cute way to casually tell the world you love yourself.”
 
I Heart Me embellished Sweater, alice + olivia by Stacey Bendet, $275, aliceandolivia.com

10 of 26

“I’m a sucker for color block, and I just love the pop of red against a neutral color,” Francis describes. “The patent leather gives it dressier appeal as well.”
 
“Phoebe” color block bag, Elaine Turner, $395, elaineturner.com

11 of 26

“Delaney” haircalf platform, Ann Taylor, $228, anntaylor.com.

12 of 26

“The unexpected snakeskin inside the pyramid shaped charms of this statement necklace won me over. I’ll feel like an Egyptian princess with this draped around my neck,” says Francis.
 
Python trianlgle necklace, Roman Luxe, $110, revolveclothing.com.

13 of 26

“I love how J.Crew created a boy-meets-girl flair to this sweater by adding a chic beaded Peter Pan collar to a menswear-style herringbone pullover.”
 
Jeweled-collar sweater, J.Crew, $178, jcrew.com.

14 of 26

“Usually fur, fringe and multiple colors would scare me away. But Jimmy Choo pulled it off in style with this showstopper! Definitely worth the splurge.”
 
“Biker” suede and fur mixed bag, Jimmy Choo, price available upon request jimmychoo.com.

15 of 26

“Oxblood is the new ‘it’ basic color this season and I love the tough femininity of the dress,” Fashion Assistant Bettina Prophete explains.
 
Leather skater dress, ASOS, $250, Available at asos.com in October.

16 of 26

“These are classic in silhouette but fun in pattern to jazz up any outfit.”
 
“Hosanni” mixed print pony haired pumps, Guess, $115, guess.com.

17 of 26

“The metallic finish is a rich, modern update on the traditional, structured purse. It’s roomy so I can carry everything I need,” says Prophete.
 
Leather and linen satchel, Reed Krakoff, $990, reedkrakoff.com.

18 of 26

“This luxe statement necklace screams cool and tough. It’ll easily elevate any ensemble.”
 
“Moonage Daydream Collar,” Assad Mounser, $395, assadmounser.com.

19 of 26

“An eye-catching crossbody to carry my essentials and that represents my personality: fun, tough and girly,” Prophete reveals.
 
“Avril” studded crossbody purse, Jessica Simpson, $78, jessicasimpson.com.

20 of 26

“This is my instant upgrade to add a touch of edge and polish to any outfit this fall.”
 
Brass studded silk collar, Eleven Objects, $275, elevenobjects.com

21 of 26

“This is my everyday running-around-to-appointments shoe. It can take me day to night, thanks to the fancy metal cap-toe,” Prophete shares.
 
“Lyannah” pony hair cap-toe loafer, Rachel Roy, $275, rachelroy.com.

22 of 26

23 of 26

24 of 26

25 of 26

26 of 26

“This watch is cheap and cheerful and adds a pop of neon color against fall’s dark tones.”
 
Slap watch, Xhilaration, $10, target.com.

Tags

# Photos

Tags

# Photos