ESSENCE's First Annual Literary Awards Winners

ESSENCE's First Annual Literary Awards Winners
ESSENCE.COM Sep, 08, 2008

1 of 10

Terry McMillan is honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Patrik Henry Bass, Senior Editor, Books and Arts.

2 of 10

The first-annual 2008 ESSENCE Literary Awards included a who’s who of the literary industry. The invitation-only event celebrated established and emerging African-American authors at Le Parker Meridien in New York City.

Hoda Kotb and Dr. Ian Smith present the night’s first award to Tracy K. Smith for her poetry collection Duende.

3 of 10

Bishop T.D. Jakes accepts The President’s Award from Michelle Ebanks, President of Essence Communications, Inc., for his uplifting book Reposition Yourself: Living Life Without Limits.

4 of 10

Bishop T.D. Jakes gives his remarks after accepting The President’s Award.

5 of 10

Jeanne Moutoussamy-Ashe accepts the Photography Literary Award for her book Daufuskie Island.

6 of 10

Author Troy Cle, winner for Best Children’s Book, hugs presenter Victoria Rowell.

7 of 10

Moriba Jackson © of the Countee Cullen Branch of the New York Public Library, located in Central Harlem, accepts a certificate of donation from Angela Burt-Murray (l) and Patrik Henry Bass.

8 of 10

Author Edwidge Danticat holds her award for Best Memoir flanked by event hosts Hoda Kotb and Dr. Ian Smith.

9 of 10

Hoda Kotb, TODAY show co-anchor, and Dr. Ian Smith, creator of The 50 Million Pound Challenge pose with the winners of the Best Non-Fiction Award, Michael Fletcher and Kevin Merida.

10 of 10

Novelist L.A. Banks accepts the Storyteller Of The Year award, voted on


# News


# News