The Essence of Style

The Essence of Style
ESSENCE.COM Apr, 30, 2012

1 of 19 Archival images courtesy of ESSENCE Magazine archives

We escaped to an exotic hideaway for this July 1977 shoot. Now it’s your turn to embrace the heat! Dare to bare some skin in this season’s blooming prints. Like the original, keep cool with flair in these dainty dresses.

2 of 19 Hair by Bradley Irion/artists by Timothy Priano, Makeup by Theresa Francine, Manicure by Ana Maria/artists by Timothy Priano, Styling by Stella Rey/Mark Edward, inc.

Print ruffle dress, Old Navy, $30, oldnavy.com. Earrings, resin bangle and wood bangle, all R.J. Graziano, $65, $25 and $38, 212-685-3737. Sandals, Nine West, $89, zappos.com.

3 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

Woven Florence dress, Banana Republic, $120, Banana Republic stores.

4 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

Woven Blooms dress, Banana Republic, $130, Banana Republic stores.

5 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

Print maxidress, Baby Phat, $74, macys.com.

6 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

“Kylie Garden Party” dress, Suzi Chin Maggy Boutique, $168, suzichinmaggyboutique.com.

7 of 19 Archival images courtesy of ESSENCE Magazine archives

Take hues from our May 1977 story, and exude easy confidence in these show-stopping colors. Be vibrant yet soft by adding a little flounce, or stay sleek in a minimal dress featuring a modern sleeve detail.

8 of 19 Hair by Bradley Irion/artists by Timothy Priano, Makeup by Theresa Francine, Manicure by Ana Maria/artists by Timothy Priano, Styling by Stella Rey/Mark Edward, inc.

“Tuscany” strapless tie dress, Qristyl Frazier Designs, $135, qristylfrazierdesigns.com. Sandals, Stuart Weitzman, $385, 212-750-2555.

9 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

Sleeveless sheath dress, DKNY, $345, select DKNY locations.

10 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

“New Take Me Now” dress, Haute Hippie, $475, hautehippie.com.

11 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

Sleeveless ruffle-front dress, Express, $50, express.com.

12 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

Deconstructed sheath dress, Ann Taylor, $148, anntaylor.com.

13 of 19 Archival images courtesy of ESSENCE Magazine archives

For any occasion, be inspired by the look of our January 1988 cover featuring new model Iman. Whether you wear a classic dress at work or show a little back during cocktail hour, white looks effortless from day to night.

14 of 19 Hair by Bradley Irion/artists by Timothy Priano, Makeup by Theresa Francine, Manicure by Ana Maria/artists by Timothy Priano, Styling by Stella Rey/Mark Edward, inc.

One-shoulder maxidress, Max & Cleo, $168, select Dillard’s stores. Earrings, Ben-Amun, $195, ben-amun.com. Cuff, Raven Kauffman, $198, ravenkauffman.com.

15 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

“Annora” dress with belt, Lauren by Ralph Lauren Dress Collection, $159, select Macy’s stores.

16 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

Cowl-back dress, Eva Franco, $270, evafranco.com.

17 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

Cowl-back dress, Eva Franco, $270, evafranco.com. Great back detail!

18 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

Dress, H&M, $60, hm.com.

19 of 19 Photography by Stuart Tyson

“The Dandelion” dress, Rachel Rachel Roy, $119, rachelroy.com.

Tags

# News

Tags

# News