The Denim Directory

Seven fresh ways to work denim into your wardrobe.

Celia L. Smith Aug, 08, 2013

1 of 7 Hannan Saleh

Loosen up your corporate style by replacing a white button down shirt with this chambray one from the August issue of ESSENCE Magazine. Pair with a pencil skirt for polished office-approved style.

Shirt, White House I Black Market, $88, whitehouseblackmarket.com. Skirt, Tracy Reese, $228, NYC, 212-807-0505. Earrings, R.J. Graziano, $45, rjgraziano.com. Body chain (worn as a necklace), Cynthia Germain, $325, Gallery Vercon, NYC, 212-473-0506. Pumps, Sam Edelman, $130, Dillard's.

2 of 7 Hannan Saleh

Let loose Friday night and work a wild pair of pants. Add a jean vest to your downtown look for an extra layer of cool.

White shirt, 7 For All Mankind, $165, 7forallmankind.com. Shirt, Joe's Jeans, $165, joesjeans.com. Jeans, James Jeans, $172, jamesjeans.us. Hoop earrings, Lauren Ralph Lauren, $38, Bloomingdale's. Bangles, R.J. Graziano, $50 for set of 3, rjgraziano.com. Sandals, Mia Limited Edition, $229, zappos.com.

3 of 7 Hannan Saleh

Create casual cut-off shorts from an old pair of jeans, and throw on a blazer with a chic pair of walkable heels and you're good to go!

Blazer, Kardashian Kollection, $84, sears.com. Blouse, Calvin Klein, $60, Macy's. Shorts, Old Navy, $25, oldnavy.com. Earrings, Alexandra Beth Designs, $88, alexandrabeth.com. Short necklace, Lauren Ralph Lauren, $48, Lord & Taylor. Long necklace, Lauren Ralph Lauren, $78, Bloomingdale's. Sandals, Rebecca Minkoff, $325, piperlime.com.

4 of 7 Hannan Saleh

Re-think denim for evenings. A contrast sleeve blazer and printed pant is a jeanius alternative to a classic suit.

Blazer, Yoana Baraschi, $365, Suzanne's, Pittsford, New York, 585-383-1810. Jeans, Banana Republic, $90, bananarepublic.com. Earrings, Robert Lee Morris, $180, NYC, 212-431-9405. Necklace, losselliani, $429, hampden clothing.com. Bangle, Alexandra Beth Designs, $68, alexandrabeth.com. Sandals, Joan & David, $175, zappos.com.

5 of 7 Hannan Saleh

Layer denim over your pretty party dress when you want to impress him without trying too hard.

Vest, Foreign Exchange, $44, feclothing.com. Bodysuit, American Apparel, $36, americanapparel.net. Skirt, Boohoo, $50, boohoo.com. Earrings, R.J. Graziano, $35, rjgraziano.com. Necklace, House of Harlow 1960, $75, glamboutique.com. Ring, Capwell & Co., $17, capwellandco.com. Booties, Delman, $498, delmanshoes.com.

6 of 7 Hannan Saleh

Dabble with different washes: ombre, bleached and vintage styles that have an air of easiness for the weekend.

Shirt, Guess, $69, guess.com. Jeans, DKNY Jeans, $80, Bloomingdale's. Earrings, Rachel Rachel Roy, $34, rachelroy.com. Necklace, Kenneth Jay Lane, $575, 877-953-5264. Ring, shopBevel, Inc., $42, shopbevel.com. Sandals, L.A.M.B., $395, Macy's.

7 of 7 Hannan Saleh

Looking for a simple, sexy solution? A jean jumpsuit will do the trick. The denim makes it casual, while the onsie design, layered with a denim vest keeps the look pulled together. Shop for more great denim perfect for your body type in our fashion closet!

Vest, BCBGeneration, $98, amazon.com. Jumpsuit, MLLE, $320, mlle clothing.com. Earrings, R.J. Graziano, $35, rjgraziano.com. Sandals, B Brian Atwood, $425, zappos.com.

Tags

# News

Tags

# News