Autumn Allure

It's that time of year when the air is crisp and the colors are warm. Layer up your look with these key toppers.

Réneise Francis Oct, 11, 2013

1 of 8 Hannan Saleh

Update your traditional navy style with this classic camel color featured in the October issue of ESSENCE. Layer up a few fab accessories like a wool floppy and scarf in complementing fall hues and you've got yourself a fierce fall look.

Peacoat, Old Navy, $55, oldnavy.com, Shirt, H&M, $25, hm.com for store locations. Leather pants, Lauren Ralph Lauren, $499, select Bloomingdale's. Hat and heels, Vince Camuto, $58 and $110, vincecamuto.com. Scarf, Verloop, $95, verloopknits.com.

2 of 8 Hannan Saleh

A traditional trench can sometimes feel so beige. Leather accessories and a splash of color make this classic coat feel more modern.

Trench coat, Sam Edelman, $180, samedelman.com, 212-226-7800. Shirt, Jones New York, $64, jny.com. Dress, Black Halo, $375, blackhalo.com. Gloves, Gloves International, Inc., $60, glovesinternational.com. Satchel, Zatchels, $155, zatchels.com. Umbrella, Ilse Jacobsen Hornbaek, $59, splendidavenue.com. Booties, Pour La Victoire, $352, Bergdorf Goodman, 800-558-1855.

3 of 8 Hannan Saleh

Play up you school days with a little print and color mixing. Plaid pants with a quirky print on top in the same color family are a fun mix while pointed flats add a sophisticated final touch.

School boy blazer,  J.Crew, $268, jcrew.com. Sweater, Topshop, $76, topshop.com. Blouse, The Limited, $50, thelimited.com. Pants, United Colors of Benetton, $100, unitedcolorsofbenetton.com, 212-223-6250. Glasses, Flutter Eyewear, $85, flutter eyewear.com. Flats, Kelsi Dagger, $99, lordandtaylor.com.

4 of 8 Hannan Saleh

Add a little sexy to that boyish varsity jacket with curve-hugging pencil skirt and pumps.

Varsity jacket Tommy Hilfiger, $349, tommy.com. Sweater, Tommy Hilfiger, $199, tommyhilfiger.com, 212-223-1824. Skirt, Mossimo for Target, $23, target.com. Clutch, Free Endearment, $99, freeendearment.com. Pumps, Aldo, $120, aldoshoes.com.

5 of 8 Hannan Saleh

Looking to add a tougher touch to your style? A biker jacket is it. Juxatpose a sweet pleated skirt and lace up boots with a moto jacket and paper boy hat that adds a borrowed-from-the-boys feel.

Motorcyle Jacket French Connection, $198, bloomingdales.com. Turtleneck, Emerson by Jackie Fraser-Swan, $198, by special order on emersonbyjfs.com. Shorts, Eva Franco, $223, evafranco.com. Newsboy cap, Brixton, $34, zappos.com. Boots, Nine West Vintage America Collection, $209, ninewest.com. Tights, stylist's own.

6 of 8 Hannan Saleh

Your puffer vest doesn't have to be stuffy. Find a printed style you can layer over a maxi and boots for tough-meets-city-chic mix.

Puffer jacket, Michael Michael Kors, $175, Belk, 866-235-5443. Jean jacket, Cold-water Creek, $100, coldwatercreek.com. Skirt, Rachel Pally, $198, revolveclothing.com. Earrings, Kara Ackerman, $200, karaackerman.com. Wrap belt, Reachel Pally, $99, pbj-shop.com. Socks, Pact, $14, wearpact.com. Booties, Liz Claiborne, $69, jcp.com.

7 of 8 Hannan Saleh

Take that tomboy tweed blazer to the max into a completely menswear-chic look with a matching tweed vest layered over boyfriend denim. A sexy pump and the right bag thrown into the mix will feminize this masculine look.

Tweed blazer, Ann Taylor, $168, anntaylor.com. Plaid vest, Lauren Ralph Lauren, $179, ralphlauren.com. Shirt, American Eagle Outfitters, $40, ae.com. Boyfriend jeans, Gap, $70, gap.com. Handbag, Charles Jourdan, $399, ideeli.com. Pumps, Joe's, $135, nordstrom.com.

8 of 8 Hannan Saleh

No outfit is complete without something haute to hold on to. The season's rich textures—suede, snakeskin, leopard and fringe—will make you fall hard for these stylish "It" bags!

"Maffra" bag, ShoeDazzle, $50, shoe dazzle.com.

Python clutch, Charming Charlie, $20, charming charlie.com for store locations.

Leather tote, Banana Republic, $198, banana republic.com.

"Lafayette" cross-body bag, Cole Haan, $278, colehaan.com.

"Claudette" clutch, Zac Zac Posen, $425, couture.zappos.com.

Quilted shoulder bag, Calvin Klein, $248, Macy's.

"Gia" clutch, Vince Camuto, $158, vince camuto.com.

Large fringe hobo, Lauren Ralph Lauren, $448, ralphlauren.com.

Tags

# News

Tags

# News