ESSENCE FEST Alums Nas, Naughty By Nature & More Featured on ‘DOPE’ Movie Soundtrack

“DOPE” is a new coming-of-age film about a young man who has to balance living life in one of L.A.’s worst hoods while trying to get in to college and passing the SAT.  The superstar cast features A$AP Rocky, Chanel Iman, Kimberly Elise and Zoë Kravitz.  Newcomers Shameik Moore, Tony Revolori and Kiersey Clemons light up the screen as the lead characters, tasked with a new challenge that almost breaks their tight-knit bond.  Our staff reccommends this as a “must-see” for Summer 2015.

One of the best parts about watching the film is enjoying the music, picked to dictate the tone of the hilarious scenes to perfection.  With hitmakers like Pharrell, Sean “Diddy” Combs and more attached to the film, it comes as no surprise that the soundtrack could rival with some of the greatest compilation albums of all time.  Not to brag, but a few selections from our ESSENCE FEST alums were chosen for the film.

Check out the listing, below.

1. “Rebirth of Slick” – Digable Planets

2. “Can’t Bring Me Down” – Awreeoh

3. “The World Is Yours” – Nas

4. “Go Head” – Awreeoh

5. “Rebel Without A Pause” – Public Enemy

6. “Don’t Get Deleted” – Awreeoh

7. “Scenario” – A Tribe Called Quest

8. “Cocaina Shawty” – Kap G

9. “Poppin’ Off” – Watch The Duck

10. “The Humpty Dance” – Digital Underground

11. “New Money” – Buddy

12. “Hip Hop Hooray” – Naughty By Nature

13. “Dirty Feeling” – Lolawolf

14. “Home Is Where The Hatred Is” – Gil Scott-Heron

15. “It’s My Turn Now” Awreeoh

“DOPE”, directed by Rick Famuyiwa, hits theaters on June 19th but the soundtrack will be available on June 16th.  In case you haven’t seen it, watch the trailer below.

Don’t miss out on any of the great performers at ESSENCE FEST, this year.  Single Night Tickets are available now.

Loading the player...