Loading the player...

ESSENCE's Yes, Girl! Podcast Could Make History With Its Webby Nomination, But We Need Your Votes!

Labeled “the Internet’s highest honor," ESSENCE could become the first Black media brand to win in the best podcast talk show category.

We have some news and we need your votes!

ESSENCE’s Yes, Girl! podcast, which launched with hosts Charli Penn, Cori Murray and Yolanda Sangweni in 2017, has been nominated for a prestigious Webby Award in the “Interview/Talk Show” podcast category. If the podcast wins, ESSENCE will become the first Black media brand in history to win in that category, but we need your help to get there.

Yes, Girl! podcast aims to elevate and celebrate Black women, and tap into the conversations they’re having in and about their world. The podcast, which recently celebrated its 100th episode in March with special guest Eve, features one-of-a-kind interviews with A-list celebrities, influencers and newsmakers that take the culture a little higher.

Yes, Girl! podcast is the flagship podcast of the ESSENCE Podcast Network.

The podcast is in good company in its category alongside The New Yorker’s Radio Hour, CNN’s The Axe Files With David Axelrod, Girlboss Radio and PRX’s Everything Is Alive, which received nods as well.

Labeled “the Internet’s highest honor,” by the New York Times the Webby Awards highlight the best content on the Internet annually. Websites, video, advertising, media and PR campaigns, apps, mobile, games, podcasts and other projects are eligible to be voted on by millions.

Previous winners of Webbys include Malcolm Gladwell, Solange, Van Jones, Jessie Williams, Black Lives Matter and FKA Twigs.

Nominees for this year’s 23rd annual Webby awards include Will Smith, Childish Gambino, Stephen Curry, Chance the Rapper, Jorja Smith and Oprah.

ESSENCE needs YOUR help in transforming Yes, Girl! from Webby Award finalist to history-making Webby Award winner!

Please support your girls by voting here and help spread the word! The voting window is winding down — it ends Thursday 4/18.

Congrats to the hosts, producers Tiffany Ashitey and Steven Psyllos, audio engineers Chiquita Paschal, Agerenesh “Aggi” Ashagre, Josh Gwynn, and Anthony Frasier and Gold Standard Creative for the show theme song.


Loading the player...
Loading the player...