Dionne Warwick Among Honorees To Receive Lifetime Achievement Awards From Recording Academy
Getty Images
Dionne Warwick, Donny Hathaway and George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic are among the honorees to receive Lifetime Achievement Awards at the Recording Academy’s annual Special Merit Awards.  The awards are issued to performers “who have made outstanding contributions of artistic significance to the field of recording.”  
Loading the player...
The three musical acts will be joined by Sam & Dave and Billy Eckstine. They will all be celebrated at a ceremony and tribute concert in Los Angeles on May 11. “This year, we have a gifted and brilliant group of honorees and their exceptional accomplishments, contributions, and artistry will continue to influence and inspire generations to come,” said Recording Academy president and CEO Neil Portnow about this year’s winners. Previous recipients include Tina Turner, Nina Simone, and Sly Stone.

Getty Images

Traditional performers won’t be the only ones in the spotlight during the ceremony. Non-performers who have contributed to the music industry will receive Trustee Awards as well. Included among those receiving Trustee Awards this year are Valerie Simpson and Nickolas Ashford, who passed away in 2011. The legendary songwriting duo, who are also former ESSENCE cover stars, are behind some of Motown’s greatest hits, including the seminal classic “You’re All I Need To Get By.” Congratulations to this year’s winners! TOPICS: