'Insecure' Will Premiere New Music From Bryson Tiller, Jazmine Sullivan And More This Season

Photo by HBO
The HBO hit has always featured amazing music and this season is no different.

Issa Rae’s Insecure has always featured a dope soundtrack. 

RELATED: 'Insecure' Actress, Dominique Perry On Her and Tasha Not Being Home Wreckers

Season one included music from The Internet, Blood Orange, Anderson .Paak, and BJ the Chicago Kid. The show’s second season is already underway and audiences have heard music from the likes of SZA and Cardi B, so what else is next?

Well, Kier Lehman, who works as the show’s music supervisor, revealed to Vulture that new music from Jazmine Sullivan, Bryson Tiller and Miguel will debut on the show this season.

RELATED: Another Great Thing About The ‘Insecure’ Season Premiere? The Music!

"A lot of the songs we’re using now are brand new and hadn’t had samples cleared or writing splits negotiated,” Lehman explained. "'Scared Money' by NxWorries [Anderson .Paak and Knxwledge] is a song we use in the first episode that hadn’t fully cleared the sample in it when we went to license it for the show. Fortunately, because it’s such a featured use in our show, we were able to push that process along and cleared it in time.”

Lehman is still putting together music for the show, which presents a few issues, but luckily most things have worked out. He adds that he wants TV and film to be places where audiences can discover music. 

"TV and soundtracks are ways of discovery that are becoming more and more prominent. It’s a fun and exciting part of the job for me to get to expose artists to new audiences. We want to be a place for artists that wouldn’t have this opportunity for exposure to come to and have fans connect with through the scenes."

Read More
Filed under: Entertainment