Young Philanthropist Lauren Seroyer Honored at the 2016 McDonald’s 365Black Awards

The Georgia native is a recipient of McDonald’s 2016 Community Choice Youth Award.

Lauren Seroyer knows that change starts in your own backyard. And this 16-year-old high school student is committed to being this change for her community.

After interacting with a fellow student who confided in her that he did not have enough food at home, this honor roll student from Georgia immediately knew that she had to do something to help.

She developed the Community Assistance & Resource Effort (CARE) Closet program, which provides students with completely confidential on-site access to a school-based food pantry. The food pantry, sponsored by various high school clubs, local businesses and non-profit organizations helps provide students with a basic need that’s essential to their academic success.

After the successful implementation of the program at her school, she competed—as the only teen participant—in a shark-tank style competition winning $25,000. The prize money allowed her to place CARE Closets in high schools throughout Gwinnett County—the largest county in the state of Georgia.

Congratulations, Lauren! Your award is well deserved.

See Lauren accept her award at McDonald’s 2015 365Black Awards on CENTRIC-TV on September 11 at 11:00 p.m. EST/10:00 p.m. CST and again on September 12 at 10:00 a.m. EST/9:00 a.m. CST. Join the conversation using @365Black and #365BlackAwards.

Read More