Young Entrepreneur Donovan Smith is Honored at the 2016 McDonald’s 365Black Awards 

The Georgia native is a recipient of McDonald’s 2016 Community Choice Youth Award.

This formerly homeless teen entrepreneur is working selflessly to give others a fresh start.

Thirteen-year-old Donovan Smith has spent the last two years to help those affected by homelessness, as he and his mother once were. He and his mother Casey Smith, fell onto hard times when Casey, a Navy veteran with a service-connected disability, couldn't find work, and lost her housing in Georgia. The pair lived at the shelter for six months, until they found an apartment.

"People helped us and now I want to help others," Donovan says.

Making and donating up to 1,0000 soaps monthly, his mission has compelled many—including celebrities—across the county to donate bath products to shelters. Living by the motto “do what you can,” Donovan’s commitment to giving back inspires all of us to lend a helping hand whenever we can.

Congratulations, Donovan! Your award is well deserved.

See Donovan accept his award at McDonald’s 2015 365Black Awards on CENTRIC-TV on September 11 at 11:00 p.m. EST/10:00 p.m. CST and again on September 12 at 10:00 a.m. EST/9:00 a.m. CST. Join the conversation using @365Black and #365BlackAwards.

Read More
Filed under: Lifestyle, Life News