Previous ArticleNext Article

ESSENCE Black Women in Hollywood to Honor Oprah Winfrey, Gabrielle Union, Alfre Woodard

Comments
Oprah Winfrey
Oprah Winfrey
Photo Credit: Getty Images

ESSENCE Black Women in Hollywood event will honor the top African-American women in the film industry on February 21, 2013.

Media mogul Oprah Winfrey will be honored for her impressive career with the Power Award at the sixth annual luncheon. Also, Alfre Woodard will be given the Vanguard Award, Gabrielle Union will receive the Fierce and Fearless Award, Mara Brock-Akil will be celebrated with the Visionary Award and Naomie Harris will be given the Lincoln Shining Star Award. Newcomer and 2013 Oscar nominee Quvenzhané Wallis will also be honored with the Breakthrough Performance Award during the star-studded luncheon.

As one of Hollywood's most-anticipated events during red carpet season, the exclusive event commemorates ESSENCE magazine's annual Hollywood issue (March), which will be available on newsstands on February 8. ESSENCE.com is giving fans exclusive access to all the red-carpet celebrity style, action and interviews via live stream at 11:30 a.m. PST/2:30 p.m. EST and re-airing that evening at 6 p.m. PST/9 p.m. EST.

ESSENCE Editor-in-Chief Constance C.R. White says, "The ESSENCE Black Women in Hollywood Luncheon recognizes the 'Power of our Presence' by spotlighting the stellar accomplishments of African-American female performers and creators in film television. More importantly, the annual luncheon serves as a source of support and inspiration for the incredibly talented community of Black women who are often overlooked by the Hollywood establishment."

Filed Under: Red Carpet
« Previous Entry
Promotion: Get the Celeb Red Carpet Beauty Look
Next Entry »
Win a Chance to Attend ESSENCE Black Women in Hollywood Event